Special dietary solutions

Special dietary solutions

Use our ingredients that are lactose-free or without added dairy to give an alternative for intolerances or allergies. Everybody, also people with a vegan or gluten-free diet, should be able to enjoy great tasting chocolate.

Highlights


 

ALTERNATIVES FOR INTOLERANCES OR ALLERGIES

LACTOSE-FREE
WITHOUT ADDED DAIRY
GLUTEN-FREE

VEGETARIAN/VEGAN/ FLEXITARIAN DIETS


DOWNLOAD THE 'SPECIAL DIETARY SOLUTIONS' CATALOG HERE

 

Globally, governments, media and social networks are driving people to more health awareness and encourage the use of healthier solutions. This has led to consumers showing a strong preference for foods that are healthy and nourishing.

We’ve created without added dairy, without added lactose and gluten-free products to meet the needs of a growing number of consumers with food

Special dietary solutions tablet

intolerances and allergies. However, these special dietary solutions also appeal to those without particular health issues but paying extra attention to the claims and ingredient lists. Millennials, for example, show a rising interest because they believe ‘free-from’ products are healthier for them.
  


Discover Barry Callebaut’s product offerings that comply with these restrictions and allergies:

1- Without added Lactose

Lactose is a sugar that is mainly found in milk and dairy products. To make sure people who are allergic can also enjoy great tasting chocolate products, we replaced the milk with skimmed milk powder with a low-lactose content.

2- Without added dairy

Consumers are following a dairy-free diet for different reasons. Dairy refers to milk from a cow or other domestic animals. We offer chocolates that have no milk and no part of milk. The milk is replaced by vegetable based solutions.

Special dietary solutions vegan

3 - Gluten-free

A gluten-free diet is a diet that strictly excludes gluten. Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains. At Barry Callebaut, all our production sites are gluten free and most of our products are too.

4 - Vegetarian/ Vegan/ Flexitarians

Consumers following these diets find great importance in claims and labels. They want products that are good for them, the environment and the animals. Vegetarians avoid all foods or ingredients that contain meat, poultry or seafood ingredients. Vegans go one step further.

On top of the vegetarian diet, they also avoid all foods and ingredients that originate from animals, so milk chocolate as such is not an option for them. Flexitarians, a relatively new notion, refer to those who are flexible in their diet and can switch from vegan to vegetarian to gluten-free and back.

 

Sneak peak into our wholesome innovation program

Wholesome choice for millennials

Discover our 'Special dietary solutions' range in this catalog

Wholesome choices: Special dietary solutions

DOWNLOAD THIS CATALOG

Want to receive this catalog and other product catalogs in your mailbox?

RECEIVE YOUR CATALOGS!